Calibration Documents that offer guidance on Calibration Range vs Use Range

S

SHOPBRAT

Hello All,
I am currently working on a solution for a corporate requirement on Calibration Range vs Use Range. The corporate requirement decrees that both ranges must be the same or the Use Range must be within the Calibration Range. I am using the rationale that most instruments are calibrated at specific points to prove linearity. However, we have auditors that insist on calibration of the entire range from ZERO to MAXIMUM.

I am interested if there are any calibration documents that offer guidance in this regard. I would prefer a written standard to resolve this issue.

Have a great day,
Regards,
SB

normzone

Trusted Information Resource
I'm not a calibration expert - one will be along shortly to quote chapter and verse.

But it seems to me that the instrument should be calibrated using points along the full range, since the potential for use is the full range.

And if you do that, then the actual use range (whatever THAT might be) WILL be within the calibration range.

So what exactly is the challenge again?

BradM

Leader
Admin
Hello SB!
I don't know of a Standard or such specifying such a thing. I did find a working paper from NCSL on the subject:
http://www.ncsli.org/c/f/p12/REG_2012.PRE.467.1654.pdf

In short, one calibrates an instrument to assure working order and confidence. Most of the time and instrument is purchased to satisfy a measurement need in a process. I have to measure 50-150?C ?1?C, so I buy a thermometer capable of that. My calibration requirement (among other requirements) is to assure calibration across that requirement range.

Saying all that...
If the thermometer will never be used at 20?C or at 200?C and is clearly marked as such, why am I mandated to calibrate at those points?