Search the Elsmar Cove!
**Search ALL of Elsmar.com** with DuckDuckGo Especially for content not in the forum
Such as files in the Cove "Members" Directory

Calibration Laboratory Environment and Instrument Tolerances

V

Verod

Hi, ;)
This is my first time asking for your help so I hope I'm giving you enough information for you to understand my problem. We are presently trying to certifiy to AS9100. Our calibration is mostly done in-house and we do not have specific tolerances for each of our instruments. We are a custom machine and fab shop and have over 3000 instruments of about 50 different types. I was wondering if anyone knows of a standard that could help me figure out what the acceptable tolerance for each instrument is. I am also searching for a standard that can give me the acceptable environmental conditions required for my metrology lab, i.e. temperature, humidy, lighting etc. Thanks,

Veronique

BradM

Staff member
Admin
Re: Need help on calibration lab environment and instrument tolerances

Well, hello there! Welcome to the Cove!:bigwave:

Are the instruments currently being calibrated? Hopefully, previous calibration certificates would help identify tolerances. Also, hopefully the departments using the instruments would have some assistance.

As a default, you can start with mfg. specifications. Also, if you have access to industry specifications like GIDEP, they will be of assistance.

A good standard may be ISO17025. Basically, you will want to provide an environmentally controlled facility to perform the calibration work. The temperature, humidity, vibration, etc. should be controlled to the point that it does not create undue influence with the calibration. That is not only the Unit Under Test, but also the standards used.