Calibration Management Software: MudCats Metrology Suite

B

Bob Collins - 2006

I have been evaluating Calibration management software for several months and am wondering if anyone out there is using the Mudcats Metrology Suite. I'm curious as to what your opinion is regarding ease of use, time/cost savings Vs. old method, etc.

Thanks

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
D

D.Scott

Welcome to the Cove Bob.

Sorry but I don't know the software you are referring to so I can't help there but there is a very basic Access program that I uploaded a while back for Cove members that you are welcome to use. I think it is still available - maybe one of the moderators can help with leading you in the right direction.

Dave

R

Rob Nix

Ask Hershal Brewer at:

***DEAD LINK REMOVED***

He had a recent post here at Elsmar and referenced MudCats, so he might be able to help you. He is a regular at the ASQ Discussion Forum site and THE person to ask on questions of metrology.

I hope he doesn't mind the plug.

Last edited by a moderator:

Hershal

Metrologist-Auditor
Trusted Information Resource
Rob,

Thanks for the plug. Of course now Ihave to go deflate my ego a bit! :)

Mudcats is a relative newcomer to the calibration management software arena. I have not heard anything bad about it so far. Edison ESI developed it. ESI has a NVLAP accredited calibration lab. Talk to Shannon over at Edison ESI. If she does not have the answers to yur questions, she can get them.

The other dominant players are CyberMetrics, makers of GAGETrack, and Blue Mountain Resources, makers of Blue Mountain. Both are good packages also, and between the two, they have the lion's share of the COTS (Commercial Off The Shelf) market.

GAGETrack runs MS Access in the background. I believe Mudcats and Blue Mountain run SQL in the background. Blue Mountain is also optomized for PDA use, making it highly portable.