Can anyone define what Six Sigma really is?

Stijloor

Leader
Super Moderator
We tried it once before and Marc (probably wisely) called a halt to it after a while. If the discussion were to be reopened (and I'm not recommending it, mind you) that thread should probably be the place.

I agree with Jim. Let's not go there again. Serves no purpose and it is a too much emotionally and politically loaded subject.

Stijloor.

C

chubar

Hello Everybody there....A very Good Day to all of you. I am extreamly happy and proud of having such a forum and intelligent people.

I am very new to six sigma. I am working in a IT company which is supply chain distributor and no.1 IT distributor in middle eat and Africa region. We have many service centers too. I am into finance, at present in service business and going forward will look distribution aswell as sales.Can anybody help me how to start and where to start Six sigma....

I am very much confused with the graph showing usl and lsl...i really have doubt why this upper limit and lower limit is fixed and actuallt what does it mean. Can anyone help me to clear my doubt.

Many thanks,

Best Regards,

Subash

C

chubar

Hello Everbody there..Good Day..Very happy to see intelligent people in this forum. I am working into an IT company which is involved into sales, distribution and service. At present i am into service and working as an asst manager-Finance.

I am very much interested in Six sigma...but have a big doubt about the USL and LSL. Can somebody explain me why these limits are fixed and why they are relevant to Six sigma.

Thanks,

Best Regards,

Subash

A

artichoke

Subash,

The Upper and Lower Spec Limits can be anywhere you like ... 4 sigma, 6 sigma, 12 sigma. They are set by the manufacturer and/or customer, not by the process. The number of defects can hence be any level you want, depending on where the spec limits have been set. Defects are a very poor measure of quality.