Can External Audits by Customer be treated As Internal Audits

paultyler

Involved In Discussions
If your customer conducts an audit can one include this in records as part of the internal audting process. If not would you still retain records of customer audits, if so what section of AS9100 would this apply too?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jim Wynne

Staff member
Admin
Re: External Audits As Internal Audits

If your customer conducts an audit can one include this in records as part of the internal audting process. If not would you still retain records of customer audits, if so what section of AS9100 would this apply too?
I'm not an expert in the aerospace realm, but I think your question is generic enough for me to weigh in (if not, someone will correct me :D).
In general, there are three types of audits: third-party (by CBs/registrars), second-party (by customers, generally) and internal (performed by employees of your company (including contractors). A second-party audit is not an internal audit in the same sense that a third-party audit is not a second-party audit. The categories are non-overlapping. You would certainly want to keep records of all of them, including second-party audits, but I don't think there should be a need to try and find justification (or a requirement) in the standard to do so.

B

BadgerMan

Here is my opinion…..

I would not let a customer audit suffice as an internal audit for the reasons that Jim has stated but also because a second party auditor would generally not have the same level of insight as a good internal auditor. Hence, a properly performed internal audit should be much more effective at discovering opportunities to improve.

Second party audits are generally just a cursory verification of compliance whereas internal audits should be a thorough assessment of processes with an emphasis on identifying opportunities for improvement.

Sidney Vianna

Post Responsibly
Staff member
Admin