Capability - Process vs Product - Look at process characteristics to improve product?

gpainter

Quite Involved in Discussions
QUESTION-

For process capability studies one measures product characterisitcs to determine if process is capable then improve the process. Is there an opposite where you look at process characteristics to improve product?

I am on a team, because I am the ISO Coordinator, looking into Capability studies. I have limited experience in this area, just enough to be dangerious. Thanks in advance!

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
J
Feedback Loop

Can't say I ever heard of formally doing this, but after some discussion here we decided that yes, in some cases process studies can improve product. It mainly boils down to communication.

Normally, engineering decides what the product needs to be then production manufactures to those requirements. However, if process capabilities are shown to be well within tolerances, and the company has a good PDCA cycle so that engineering gets good feedback, then the engineers may be able to use tighter tolerances to improve product features such as weight, ease of use, reliability etc.

Hope this helps.

James

Atul Khandekar