Capability Study on Continual Arbitrary Dimension

O

Ospif1

Hi,

I am new to performing this kind of analysis so a little confused as to what my options are. We currently produce a heat shield and need to perform a capability study on the critical aspects of the shield, which are the diameters and locations of the fastening holes situation on the shield and the form of the shield.

The hole diameters and locations I have no issues with performing the capability however i am confused as to how i can perform one for the form since the form is not a set dimension, it's continual.

What we do have, is the ability to check whether or not the form is within a specified tolerance, but unless you measure the exact point of the form on ever shield tested, the co-ordinates of the form area tested will never be the same.

So I suppose my question is whether or not there is a method of performing a capability study for something which does not have an exact single dimension and location such as a hole does and all you have available to you is a CMM machine which can tell you if the form at any point on the shield is in or out of spec.

Appreciate any help, Cheers.

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator
depending on why you are performing a capability study, a simple approach is to use a categorical (aka attributes or pass/fail) data approach. Thsi gets you to how many bad parts you are making. If you are looking for margin to the limits or slow drifts towards the specification limits, you will need to fixture the parts and measure in specific locations...

O

Ospif1

So does having a simple pass or fail option give you the requirement to perform a capability study? Would be great if that can be done because I can then perform a proper dimensional study on diameters and locations and then another for a pass/fail approach for the form and edge.

Thanks for your answer!

Bev D

Heretical Statistician
Leader
Super Moderator