SBS - The best value in QMS software

CE Marking for Class I Medical Device?

Hi everybody,

I'm new to the Medical Device CE certification requirements, thank you in advance for your help!

We have a medical device for a smell=test, (4x6 inch card with smell areas, scratchnsniff) ol-factory dysfunction or lossofsmell. Based on what I have seen in MDD, we have a Class I device. Device is not sterilized, not taking any measurements, should be the lowest Class I categorization. We have a local representative in Germany with 35 years of med device experience.

As Class I devices are self-certified, all we have to do is:
1. compile a technical file and design file -which directive would be the appropriate one?
2. demonstrate compliance with the essential requirements. -Is there any other requirements than local rep? Do we need a QMS?
3. sign our own declaration of conformity
4. register with German competent authority to say that we intend to market the device

Am I missing a step? -or are we in CE compliance with these basic steps?

Thanks for your help!

kimmo01

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

DannyK

Trusted Information Resource
I am working for a client with a class I medical device and these are the activities required for class I as required in EU MDR (2017/745)

1. Classify the device as per EU MDR chapter III.
2. Create a Declaration of Compliance as per Article 19
3. Create a Post Market Surveillance Plan as per Article 84
4. Create a Post Market Surveillance Report as per Article 85.
5. Technical documentation as per Annex II.

Hi Danny K,

Thank you for your prompt response! We have a smart phone app tied into this test, so the questions are: does a smart phone app have a different Class I spec? Can we combine the card and the phone app into one single declaration of conformity?

Thanks!

Mikilk

Involved In Discussions
I am working for a client with a class I medical device and these are the activities required for class I as required in EU MDR (2017/745)