Certificate of Conformance/Compliance (CofC) - Share your best business practices

S

SLSHappy

:frust: Help! I was hoping someone could share their best business practices for how you handle who signs the CofC upon shipping product to the customer. Currently when a product is ready to be shipped, the shipping manager/clerk comes to me, the Quality Manager, to sign off on the CofC (or my designee). Two problems I see with this. First and what I think is the most major issue is that I don't actually confirm anything w/ respects to the product being shipped (i.e. identity, quantity, test results, etc.). I don't handle the product at all. I basically 'blindly' sign the CofC. Second, it waste so much time for shipping to run up & down the hall looking for someone to sign the CofC before they can actually ship product out the door. A little history/back ground info.: I'm still fairly new to my company as well as FAA requirements. We produce telephones for airplanes and have approximately 50 employees. Our Quality Manual has been approved by FAA and I have the task to get us AS9100 registered. I've read the thread re: this matter from Sept. 2005 but I'm still not clear on the best practice for CofC's. Help!!!!! From the thread I read, I certainly don't want to be held liable if something goes wrong w/ the product after delivery to our customer however it just seems there has to be a better way to handle this process. Any contributions will be GREATLY appreciated! :frust:

S

SLSHappy

Thank you for the reference however I have read the prior discussions/threads and mentioned in my post that I had but am still in need of further clarification. I tried to elaborate on my circumstances in hopes that someone would be able to shine a different light on this matter to be of better assistance to me. So I'm still in desperate need of some feedback from the forum.

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin
SLSHappy said: