Informational Change control process - Major vs Minor change - Active class III medical devices

Yaut

Registered
Hello everyone,

I am a intern in a young startup that manufactures active class III medical devices. During an external we had as coment "The evaluation of a design change significance is based on an internal rule for estimating the impact on product performance or safety. Other impartial rules less criticizable are available in FDA guidances more valuable during official audits than can be used to be less challenged by your notified body." This external audit served to prepare our future internal audit for ISO 13485 certification.

I find it very difficult to find totally objective criteria to differentiate major changes of minors. I found some ideas thanks to "NBOG's Best Practice Guide", but I do not really know how to implement it concretely. Can I create categories of changes (design, manufacturing process etc) and define major / minor changes for each category?

In addition I need to find a way to lighten the change procedure for minor changes (such as address changes etc, which have no impact on the device safety or on the smq).
But I must admit that I do not know how to do it.

If anyone can give me concrete examples of change control procedure, I would be really grateful.
Thanks

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Ed Panek

QA RA Small Med Dev Company
Trusted Information Resource
510(k) Change Analysis:

1. Decision Tree:
    1. This Regulatory Analysis is performed in accordance with FDA’s guidance documents titled:
i. “Deciding When to Submit a 510(k) for a Change to an Existing Device”, issued on 10/25/2017.
ii. “Deciding When to Submit a 510(k) for a Software Change to an Existing Device”, issued on 10/25/2017.
    1. Decision Tree:
i. The decision tree is modeled after the flowcharts within the guidance. This is not a stand-alone assessment as necessary considerations within the guidance were also reviewed during this assessment.

Guidance Ref. No.