Change Management Process

Hello All.

First time Cove post, thank you in advance for the responses. I work as a quality engineer for a contract medical device manufacturing company (ISO 13485) and I am in the process of working on our change management process. I am having a hard time generating a risk assessment template for possible changes.

ISO 14971, Medical Devices - Application of Risk Management to Medical Devices, Table E.2 provided some examples of initiating events and circumstances.

Deciding When to Submit a 510(k) for a Change to an Existing Device Guidance for Industry and Food and Drug Administration Staff
Though this won't be sent from us and rather our contracted customer, I thought this document was helpful for reference. The Figures are super helpful in this document, but I am still needing help with creating a risk-based assessment.

I was wanting to know opinions.

I am thinking personnel will complete an Engineering Change Form and then follow the Figures from the 510(k) document to help with the the flow of the change management process. Once they get to the risk-based assessment they will answer the following questions from ISO 14971 and determine the risk level. Thoughts? If anyone has a template, I would appreciate it.

Thank you.

Attachments

Last edited:
Elsmar Forum Sponsor

yodon

Staff member
Super Moderator
You're a CM and you're making changes to the device itself? That puts you into design controls!

If just to the manufacturing processes, do you have any kind of Process FMEA? Those normally identify ways manufacturing can fail and what the potential risks are. That NEEDS to be done in conjunction with your customer since they can only say (and have to defend) what the severity would be. If you have that, you can refer too it as to how risk is assessed.

BradM

Staff member
Admin
Welcome!

Will your change management form cover everything, or one for process type changes and one geared for engineering type changes?