Choosing a Sampling plan for Start Up Fabless IC Company - Guarantee a 200 DPM limit

G

gbusletta

Hello everyone:
I am new to the world of quality and I am trying to develpo a sampling plan for our ICs.
I have searched this forum and have found quite a bit of usefull information but am still a little confused on choosing a sampling plan.

Here is the situation that I am in:
Our subcontractor does 100% testing of our device.
There is a 200 piece sample (the subcontractor decided on this number) taken from each lot (a lot is typically between 1000-10000 pieces) as a QA sample
If there are any failures in the 200 pieces, the lot is put on hold until we verify the failure(s). If the failure is verified, the defects are replaced and the lot is 100% re-tested.

The questions I have are the following:
1. If I know the sample size is 200, Can I use the binomial distribution, set the acceptance number to 0 (c=0) and search for a LTPD to give me a beta = 10% ( for a 90% confidence interval)? If I do this I get an LTPD = apprx 1.2%.

2. Now if I plot the AOQ, and look for the 1.2% on the x-axis, I get a AOQ of 0.1071% and a AOQL of 0.18%. Can I use either of these numbers to estmate the DPM level of our product? That is if the LTPD is 1.2% and the AOQ is 0.1071%, does this mean that our product is sitting at 1071 DPM? Is it also true that the Maximum DPM level for our product would be 1800 since the AOQL is 0.18%?

3. If all of this is correct, how do I modify the sampling plan in order to guarantee a 200 DPM limit? Do I modify the sample size and the LTPD such that the AOQL is set to 200?

I have read a lot of material on this subject, but it appears a lot of it is repeat, with no real examples to follow.

I also have attached a spreadsheet that I have developed to help me out with this. It is set to the above example. I have set the AQL level to 0 since this appears to be how all of the LTPD sampling plan tables are created.

Attachments

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Tim Folkerts