Choosing the correct Distribution for Acceptance Sampling

L

lp026713389

Hello everyone,

I'll try and be as organized as I can in this post, as it is my first. I am currently a senior student in industrial engineering, doing my co-op graduation project in acceptance sampling.

I am developing a type A sampling plan for attributes (with type A OC curve) to sample an isolated lot, not a process. What I have so far, are AQL which I have obtained from a real producer, and RQL which I have obtained from a consumer who works with that same producer. I work with the consumer, but I want to implement both values in my plan (when drawing the OC curve). I have been reading a lot of literature about the topic lately, however a lot of things in what I've read don't seem to add up for me. Here are a few:

1. While reading about which distribution to use while developing my plan, I got confused about what exactly are the criteria to choose the hypergeometric or the binomial approx. to the hypergeometric. Hypergeometric is typically used for small/finite lots, however some literature mentions that the binomial approx. is accurate as well, if N (population size) is at least 10 times greater than n (sample size).

The problem here is, I am actually trying to determine which distribution to use IN ORDER TO get n (whether by calculation or tables). But the above condition assumes that I already know n (which I am trying to determine). It seems a bit illogical to me, that the condition assumes I have a value which I need to get by a choice I will make based on that condition. Any help here?

2. Is there any other condition based on which I can choose whether I can use the binomial approximation or not? For example instead of having to do with n, I am looking for a condition like "If N (population/lot size) is >= a certain value, the binomial approx. can be used." That would make a lot more sense to me than the condition depending on n (sample size, which I am trying to get!)