CI (Continuous Improvement) Tools and Techniques - What is the state of the art?

B

Bayne

All of us know some toolsand techniques of CI - but what is the state of the art? What tools do you use in your company?
Most common tools are:

Checklists
Poka Yoke
Pareto’s 80:20 Rule
The 5 Y's
Brainstorming
DMAIC
Process Imagineering
Value Stream Mapping
Fishbone Ishikawa-Diagram
The 5 Y's

What else do you know? Im really new at that topic but i'm very interested and doing some lecutre, but i never found a list of all tools and techniques.

qusys

Trusted Information Resource
Re: CI (Continuous Improvement) Tools and techniques

All of us know some toolsand techniques of CI - but what is the state of the art? What tools do you use in your company?
Most common tools are:

Checklists
Poka Yoke
Pareto’s 80:20 Rule
The 5 Y's
Brainstorming
DMAIC
Process Imagineering
Value Stream Mapping
Fishbone Ishikawa-Diagram
The 5 Y's

What else do you know? Im really new at that topic but i'm very interested and doing some lecutre, but i never found a list of all tools and techniques.

It depends based upon situations.
Part of the quality tools that you have mentioned are more linked with problem solving ( for example 5W's, Brainstorming, Fishbone Diagram ..) and are functional to a certain purpose.
PDCA is the common approach for continuous improvement.
When you want to improve a process, first you shall be in line with the objective and goals you set, then you shall raise the bar.
To do so, you shall collect data and make analisys: in this sense, check list and pareto analysis are ok.
When you want to modify a process to pursue effectiveness, in addition to effectiveness, you shall discover disconnect, so VSM is ok for this.
I do not know Process Imagineering. Probably you intend Business process Reengineering.
Hope this helps:bigwave:

B

Bayne

Yes, i intended Business process Reengineering.
Thank you for your helpful and kind reply !