Cl 7.5.1: Control of Production and Service Provision - How much is too much?

A

AK209

I am somewhat new to overseeing the QMS in our company.

I was looking over our procedure for Control of Production and Service Provision and have come up with some questions.

1) Our existing procedures purpose is stated as "To define the roadmap detailing the guidelines that company management shall use to develop quality plans, procedures...." It is my understanding that section 7.5.1 does not include the development of listed items, but the existence of controlled conditions and availability of needed items and instructions to carry out quality production. Does the existing purpose statement seem off track to anyone else? Or am I not understanding the purpose?

2) In writing the procedure for this section...Can it be done by summary and reference to other existing procedures? for example...Monitoring and measurement will be done in accordance with quality plans and criteria specific to the product, and procedures 160 and 170....and...Monitoring and measuring equipment will be calibrated in accordance with procedure 90 and kept in a locked cabinet in QA area. Equipment is readily available to inspection staff who each have been issued a key.

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated for this.
:thanx:

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
Q

quality1

Re: Section 7.5.1: How much is too much

At my last company, we had one standard quality plan for all products since they were very similar. A flow chart was developed to initiate the process once an order went through Sales. The flow chart woul also include which procedures or work instruction would be required to build that product including how it was packaged and sent to customers. As long as all information are available to produce a quality product, I don't think it's too much info. Hope that helps with your question.

charanjit singh

Involved In Discussions