Clarification in organizing required documents for ISO 27001

S

Sizzles

Hello all,

I am a technical writer that is new to the information security industry. The new company I work for wants to implement ISO 27001 as a means to provide structure to their information security, and of course, pick up a certification. They have some existing documentation that is scant, and disorganized. I am in the process of reorganizing this information, and write up missing policies and procedures. We have already defined the internal and external limits, and a scope.

My central question at this time is what needs to be in the Information Security Policy (5.2), and how is that policy different from the litany of other policies (access control, password management, classification scheme, asset management, etc)? Do all of these ancillary policies need to be included in the ISP of 5.2 or is it OK to have one generalized information security policy that speaks to the requirements of 5.2, and then reference those other polices?

Thanks in advance for any clarity on these documents!

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
I

infosaas

I've seen two approaches to this. One is the "war and peace" approach, where an organisation seeks to encompass every possible information security related policy (access control, BYOD, acceptable use, business continuity etc.) into one massive document. The downside to this is that it is hard to effectively communicate the contents to employees and contractors, so effective personnel engagement may suffer.

My preferred approach, and one that I have used for many successful certifications, is to have a "top level" information security policy, which acknowledges and points towards individual "second level" policies, one for each of the areas above (normally between 8 and 15 in total). Easier to write, easier to manage, and easier to communicate to those who you.