Company AS9100D External Audit Preparation

TacitBlue

Involved In Discussions
What is the best way to help a company prepare for an upcoming external audit?

I am a compliance manager, and I would like to know if you recommend something we could send out along with our audit notification email to help our people successfully prepare for the AS9100D external audits.

For example, I think an AS9100 prep guide specific to production, purchasing, design, etc., may be valuable.

Would this help or hinder? Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
Why do people need to prepare? Haven’t they been through internal audits in preparation? Its a similar process, just done by an outsider.

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Leader
Admin
Hello TacitBlue,

I don't have a copy of AS9100D in front of me, but if it's consistent with ISO 9001:2015 I would advise your personnel to be ready to respond to questions such as:
  • How they contribute to the Quality Policy's statements (customer satisfaction, conformance to requirements, etc).
  • What could go wrong in their process (risks)
  • How they help make sure those wrong things (risks) are addressed. This could be checks after set up, using calibrated instruments, 1st article inspection, etc.
  • Be ready to describe what they do (the process). Be ready to show the necessary documentation, if any, inspections if called for, etc.
  • How they handle nonconforming product/service, if any.
  • How they get news of updates and process issues (Quality Alerts?)
  • How they know they are doing a good job (process metrics and what they mean to this particular area).
I hope this helps.