Confused - Medical Device Reports and Corrections/Removals

A

abpmom2

All,

Bear with me please as I'm new to the quality assurance field. I apologize for the length, but I'm very confused over the relationship between reports of corrections and removals and MDRs.

Specifically, the regulation states that a manufacturer must report corrections/removals if these corrections were taken to reduce a risk to health. "risk to health" is defined as follows:

(1) A reasonable probability that use of, or exposure to, the product will cause serious adverse health consequences or death; or
(2) That use of, or exposure to, the product may cause temporary or medically reversible adverse health consequences, or an outcome where the probability of serious adverse health consequences is remote.

Now - re: section 803. A manufacturer is required to submit an MDR report if the device may have caused/contributed to death OR if the device malfunctioned and this malfunction would be likely to contribute to or cause death or serious injury if the malfunction were to recur. In this case, we're talking about "serious injury" which is defined as life threatening, permanent impairment/damage to a body function/structure, or necessitates medical/surgical intervention to prevent such a permanent injury.

Here's where I struggle. I receive a customer complaint on a malfunction and perform a health hazard assessment. The result of this health hazard assessment is that the type of injury the malfunction could potentially cause is "temporary or reversible injury requiring medical intervention" (such as administration of additional medications or antibiotic) - and that the likelihood of harm is either rare or unlikely due to standards of clinical practice, how detectible the malfunction is, amongst other considerations. In the end we determine that the risk level is "acceptable".