Control Plan Requirements - Should I identify all the individual drawing dimensions?

M

madeyecol

Hi All,

I am fairly new to control plans and would like some thoughts on control plan requirements with regard to product characteristics

I have performed a PFMEA on the manufacture of a fabricated component which undergoes a number of processes i.e. basically the blank is punched out from a sheet, formed, drilled etc, and I am attempting to draft the control plan.
My question is with regard to the product characteristics produced at the punching stage. The component blank is punched from a sheet of titanium by a machine controlled by an NC programme. When identifying the product characteristics for this punching process, should I be identifying all the individual drawing dimensions for which the blank obviously covers. I have not identified all these individual dimensions on the PFMEA.

thanks

Colin

Manix

Get Involved!!!
Trusted Information Resource
Re: Control plan requirements

Your product characteristics would indeed need to be stated and the dimensions of the blank would be included. As would any visual requirements for the blank. You would probably want to check the the blank is complete and does not have any burred edges and the like, these are all Product Characteristics.

Your PFMEA need not contain individual dimensional requriements. This identifies failures within your process so you may look at failure modes that would lead to incorrect dimensions, I.e. Blanking force too high or too low etc..... This would lead you to control your process sufficiently in the control plan. So other characteristics you could include in your control plan could be the Stamping pressure settings, which would then be followed up with inspection frequencies and control methods in the preceeding columns (assuming you are using the QS / TS style Control Plan form).