COTS Items CoC for FAI Documentation

NDesouza

Involved In Discussions
Hello All,.
Does anyone know how a supplier could provide CoCs for COTS items when a sub tier vender refuses or cannot provide one? I have a case where my supplier was issued a SCAR for not providing a CoC for a COTS item after being directed by the customer that we did not need to provide a CoC for a COTS item as long as a packing slip was provided.

I am new to this supplier but I am aware that there is variation in the customer's requirements on COTS items. It kind of depends on who is receiving the material and the FAI documentation as to whether they will write a QN or a SCAR. This is pretty troublesome. Instead of relying on the current punitive system, I think it is best to come of with a CYOA process that is effective and prevents any further confusion on this issue.

1. Couldn't we provide our own internal CoC for the COTS item?
or
2. Could we provide a template for our sub tier venders to write in the information they do have on the item and say why they could not provide a CoC?

kind of grasping at straws here :blowup:

thanks for any help or ideas you can provide.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

yodon

Staff member
Super Moderator
I'm not in aerospace so maybe this isn't applicable. What aspect of conformance are you needing? Raw materials, production process? Obviously, you couldn't attest to those aspects.

Who issued the SCAR (and where does the requirement for the CoC come from)?

outdoorsNW

Quite Involved in Discussions