Definition Cp Cpk Pp and Ppk Definitions - I'm doing SPC and Capability Analysis

L

Leigh

Hi All,

I am fairly new to the world of Capability Analysis. My problem at the moment is the more I read the more my head spins. I’m slowly getting a hold on the concepts involved but I need help on a specific issue.

A customer of ours manufactures an electronic component for us. This component (an IC or integrated circuit) must meet over 150 parameters within well defined limits. (Each lot consists of about 2500 pieces). Therefore the supplier tests the IC prior to shipping and provides, as part of the test report, the capability analysis results for each parameter. The test processes are quite stable and the measured test results are generally centered within the limits. Below is his description of Cp and Cpk. To my understanding he is using actual standard deviation rather than estimated std as is required by Cp /Cpk formulas, and therefore I think are really descriptions of Pk and Ppk..

My question is: 1) Is his interpretation of Cp and Cpk below correct and relevant? 2) Is below actually a description for Pk and Ppk? and 3) Should he be using Cp or Pp in determining out process capability, and if so how?

Many thanks for any help offered…. Leigh

Definition of Cp
===========

Cp, the capability of a process, is determined by the width of the process distribution
relative to a set of limits. For a test program, this means the width of a distribution of
test results relative to the test limits. The standard measure of the width of a
distribution in statistics is the standard deviation (std_dev), so Cp must somehow
relate the standard deviation to the test limits:

Cp = min{ ((HTL-nominal)/(3*std_dev)) , ((nominal-LTL)/(3*std_dev)) }

with:
HTL = Higher Test Limit
LTL = Lower Test Limit
nominal = nominal value = (HTL+LTL)/2
std_dev = standard deviation of measured value

As the equation suggests, Cp is the number of standard deviations that will fit between