Creating Internal customers within the manufacturing process

M

Max Brear

I am an engineer working for a security paper manufacturer in the UK. Recently I have been assigned a new role, looking at the possibility of our company adopting six sigma in order to combat product variation.

In order to do this successfully I want to begin and develop the concept of internal/External customers, but am finding this increasingly difficult as most of the staff have been at the company along time and are ristrcting change.

Does anyone have any recommendations as to how I go about promoting this change? What are the initial steps I should take, are they adminastrative, or do they involve a management "shake-up"?

Please can you help.:confused:

E Wall

Just Me!
Trusted Information Resource
Role Playing

To me what you have stated seems a communication problem. Let everyone know that you are not adding anything new (yet), just looking at what is done in a different way.

Although we did this for ISO not for Six Sigma purposes...At our site we gave these examples (we manufacture industrial batteries):

Departments (Partial list for example):
- Materials (Purchasing & Shipping)
- Maintenance
- Quality Assurance
- Production (which includes: Casting, Oxide, Pasting, Assembly, and Formation)

Make the statement that it is their responsibility to meet their customers needs and expectations, which requires communication.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
EXAMPLE:
Materials, Maintenance, and QA provide either services (support or testing) or raw materials needed for the Production Departments to manufacture product. So each production department is a customer (internal) of theirs.