Department Plan for QA and HSE (profile, plans, structure, goals, etc.)

Hi All!

I am tasked to submit a proposal (profile, plans, structure, goals, etc.) for the company's newly-created QA and HSSE Department. It was previously under our HR Department and my actual job description is to manage the setting-up and achieving of the various ISO certifications (ISO 9001:2015, ISO 14001:2015, ISO 45001:2018 and ISO 22301:2012 soon ISO 27001) so more on documentation and ISO-related implementation activities. But as the company is expanding, the top management had decided to have a standalone QA and HSSE department so I was asked to prepare the department structure, specific goals, programs and plans, etc. My title bears the word "QA" which I am a little apprehensive about as I am actually not doing any QA activities besides ISO quality audit and has caused a little confusion on what is expected of me.

I have no experience and any guide at all on this enormous task so I have spent a lot of time searching online on an ideal template/plan but all I get are those Quality Management plans which we already have in the form of our QMS. I actually wanted to build upon either the principles of Quality Management (ISO 9001) or Total Quality Management (TQM) but found it hard to design a work plan/ action plan from those principles (customer focus, leadership, evidence-based, etc.). Added to the fact that I am not only expected to come up with a quality plan but also environment, business continuity, health & safety and soon information security. But I am focused on doing the quality structure first and build up from there.

I hope I have laid down my concerns clearly. Otherwise, I can still provide further information. I would be eternally grateful for your inputs.

Thank you.

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Staff member
Admin
Well, this is no small task is it?