Design Output

nehalmahajan55

Starting to get Involved
Hello Everyone

I am new to the role and I am working on Design History File for a class 2 medical device
I am struggling with Design outputs

I know the basics regarding what does it mean and for verification we have to show how design output meets design input. Area where I am struggling is in drafting it. As I know design output can be literally 1000 of different things from engineering drawing, schematics, etc
So in this traceability matrix I just have to put name and document number for the respective file of the output and for submission do we need to send these files as well?
Also for submission do we need to submit these output
Hoping to hear reviews and suggestion from you all

Thanking you in advance

Attachments

• Design Output
    6.png
    60.5 KB · Views: 60
Last edited:

shimonv

Trusted Information Resource
My experience has been that without some sort of automated design QA system it is very burdensome to list design output in the traceability matrix. Especially with software... you are not going to make reference to code module or lines.
What I have done was to omit this column ("least burdensome approach") and show traceability between inputs and verification/ validation activities, which is an evidence that there is appropriate design output in place.

Obviously, design output elements are doucmented in the DHF.

Shimon

Tidge

Trusted Information Resource
You will not have to submit all of the design outputs as part of a submission packet. Most will be represented in a BoM for the finished device, as well as being referenced in other documents (RMF, V&V paperwork, etc.)

I think you have (re)discovered that it is a practical impossibility to "flatten" a (multi-dimensional, relational) database into a 2-dimensional grid. The information in the database has to exist somewhere, but how you represent it to an agency is up to you.