Determining an as received OOT condition during calibration does not affect measurements taken prior to calibration.

ChrisM242021

Registered
I am a CMM/Metrology Technician in the Automotive Industry. My company recently underwent certification to IATF standards. During our formal audit it was brought to our attention that our Roamer arm, which was recently calibrated by the OEM, had an as received OOT condition. as a result, we are required to verify in writing that the OOT condition did not affect our dimensional assessments conducted prior to sending the roamer arm out for calibration. As a Journeyman Calibration Technician trained by the Navy, I was taught that a Golden Standard (Type 1 level) was considered 10:1, a Calibration (Type 2 level) was considered 5:1, and a working standard (Type 3 & 4 level) was 4:1. However, I have been unable to locate that information anywhere outside of my own memory. I did find a thread contained here that alluded to the same understanding. Does such a standard exist, and if so, where can I find it for the purposes of referencing it? For the sake of discussion, the OOT of tolerance condition is in the neighborhood of 10 microns while our tightest part tolerance is no less than +/- 0.5 mm. Would it be acceptable to simply state the ratio between the OOT condition and the minimum customer tolerance meets a 50:1 ratio and therefore would not influence the stated results of measurements taken prior to the roamer arm calibration?

Funboi

On Holiday