Search the Elsmar Cove!
**Search ALL of Elsmar.com** with DuckDuckGo including content not in the forum - Search results with No ads.

Determining the feasibility/scope for FDA IQ/OQ against a very simple application

R

robeen

Hello everyone!

Who am I ? I work as a solution architect in a company that offers hardware & software solutions for supply chain and production quality control automation and mobility.

How simple is the software ? We will install on Hair Product Production Line an out-of-box hardware that will automatically work as a standalone device to determine if each produced item meets some standards or not (Barcode is there, Cap is on, Fill level of the product). we will be using this hardware's API to create a very basic desktop application to show some statistics about the passed products and the failed ones.

Where's this company located ? It's an american company but the software will only be deployed in one of it's distributor's factories in Africa (the production will be done and distributed in Africa only).

So what's my problem ? The end-user requested the software to be IQ/OQ compliant.

Again, so what's the problem ? the answer to that question is based on my extensive 10-hour research so please bare in mind that I'm no expert!
So first of all, why would they request a regulation enforced by an American administration, while all the supply chain will take place in Africa. I thought maybe it's a good practice but yet I can't find a thorough article, template available to talk about implementing such a simple tool, even the cosmetics section always referred to the product itself and nothing about the packaging or quality control.