Dielectric strength test as per IEC 60601-1 -Infant incubator

hi
we got an infant incubator for safety testing as per IEC 60601-1. I am new to the testing field. So after reading the standard (which are a little bit difficult for me to interpret )and some old reports, I made these points on which HV test should be done.
1. between Line neutral shorted and earth​
2. between line neutral shorted and the display panel (using metal foil)​
3. between line neutral shorted and the applied part ( which is infant temperature sensor)​
4. between line neutral shorted and the metallic enclosure.​
the incubator has SMPS which is an approved component.

Please check if I am doing it right or if I missed anything.

also, while reading other threads on this topic, people are suggesting not to do HV test on an assembled device(it is a class I device), then how should I do testing?
it will be very helpful to me in understanding things.

PS: The insulation diagram given by the manufacturer is attached.

Attachments

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Peter Selvey

Staff member
Sounds wrong, sorry!

Dielectric strength is a test for solid insulation. In practical form it exists in parts like capacitors, optocouplers, transformers, wiring.

Before performing the test, you should know exactly where the insulation is based on inspection. It's a good idea to make a list of all the insulating parts for each insulation barrier as a supplement to the insulation diagram. For example, in the diagram provided, insulation "a" is between mains and earth. You should be able to inspect the device and list all the physical components that make up this barrier. For an infant incubator, this is very difficult (maybe, one of the most difficult) but in fact that makes it all the more important.