Difference between Poka-Yoke and Red Rabbit

OnurSeref

Registered
Greetings,
I am a Quality Engineer on Wire Harness Manufacturing working with OEM's on Automobile Industry, following the principle of IATF 16949:2016 Quality System.

I would like understand one thing; On IATF 16949:2016, Article 10.2.4 Error Proofing;
It states that the the organization shall have an proper error proofing methodologies and shall have process control point documented.
The methodologies shall be documented with process risk analysis(e.g PFMEA) with their details and shall be documented on frequency with control plan.

As an company, We are using Poka-Yoke harnesses to understand if our processes detect the nonconformities.(As an Electrical Connectivity, We are currently using poka-yoke system for Terminal Position Out and Wrong Addressing nonconformities)

My questions is; What is the difference between Poka-Yoke and Red Rabbit methodology?
From my understanding; Poka-Yoke is a process system controller, Red Rabbit is more of an process operator controller, as we can see on attribute MSA, We are usually using Red Rabbit parts to understand the operator decision-mechanism.

Could someone give me an perspective on the difference between Poka-Yoke and Red Rabbit.

Many thanks for answering.

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
Poka Yoke is the actual mistake proof (e.g., sensors). Red Rabbit testing is the practice of verifying the effectiveness of the Poka Yoke by running known defective product through the Poka Yoke to verify that it works as intended.
We are using Poka-Yoke harnesses to understand if our processes detect the nonconformities.
This would be a red rabbit test.

John Predmore

Trusted Information Resource