SBS - The Best Value in QMS software

Do we need an SOP for ISO 9001?

Hello,
I'm new to both the Cove and the quality management field so I am hoping to get some input from the experts here.

I'm trying to get ISO 9001 for my company and one of the many advices I have gotten from talking to other quality managers from different ISO accredited companies is that we need to have proper procedures (I assume that requirement comes from Section 8.5 of ISO 9001:2015).

Currently my company has a "quality control manual" that outlines the responsibilities of each department and we have work instructions that provides the general steps for each incoming product to be made. We don't really have a formal "SOP Document" but do we need to make them for each department to satisfy ISO's requirements?

We don't have anything that would instruct the employees how to do their job per say, most of the people here have been working in their dept for 10+ years so they primarily know what to do via experience. The work instructions provides basic steps, like the sequence of steps but nothing too detailed.

Pardon my lack of understanding, I know my current level of understanding is very basic so I appreciate any insight and feedback.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

indubioush

Quite Involved in Discussions
You need to set up processes at your organization that meet the requirements of ISO 9001. Some of these processes must be documented to comply with ISO 9001. The amount (quantity, detail) of procedures you need depends on many factors including the size and type of your organization. Since you are just starting to scratch the surface, you probably will need a consultant to help you implement your quality system. Where are you located? I might be able to help you.