Documenting Customer Complaints (Records)

Hi,

I am new to this company where their complaint process is absolutely not working. They do have a SOP and form in place but most of the time they don't end up using it unless the Quality Manager opens and documents complaints that gets forwarded to via email.

Technical Services will receive the complaint via email, phone call and they would use some database (not validated or no audit trail) to enter the details and respond back and forth to customer. They will forward this email then to QA and that's it. No one from Technical Services or CS initiates the complaint or takes the ownership of it.

QA may/may not document the complaint using the controlled form but that's about it. The investigation, root cause analysis and corrective actions is all considered QA's responsibilities. Lots of time, there is a technical expertise that need to be involved such as Technical Services or R&D for the root cause analysis but no one wants to take the ownership and sign or put their name on it. Most of the time they choose to not document anywhere on a released form but just update notes in the database.

I am trying to change this process and having Technical Services and CS to start initiating the complaints using the complaint form but I may get some resistance. How do I convince them to start documenting these complaints rather than just using some database. By, the way - CS doesn't even document these in the database. They prefer to respond only by emails.

Coury Ferguson

Moderator here to help
Staff member
Super Moderator
You may want to order and review ISO 10002. It is an ISO Standard for handling complaints. Here is what it addresses:

“This International Standard provides guidance for the design and
implementation of an effective and efficient complaints-handling process for all
types of commercial or non-commercial activities, including those related to
electronic commerce.”

This might help you. Just my opinion.