Does auditor have conflict of interest? Should we ask for different auditor?

A

Audit Consultant

Question:
Do we ask for different auditor due to potential conflict of interest?

Situation:
Small, relatively new company with new technology that is growing in demand has a scheduled certification audit. We were planning on discussing some very confidential items. Auditor who is scheduled has been at the company once before for audit. I never met him. I am very new to working with the company in a permanent quality and regulatory role but have over 20 years in the business and never had this situation, to my knowledge.

Two situations - Should we ask for a different auditor due to potential conflict of interest?

1. Upon speaking to the auditor on Friday he mentioned wife works in quality for a medical device company in same town. There are two highly competitive similar companies in town. It seems to me the auditor should be asked what company his wife works for and if one of the competitors, ask for a different auditor. What is your opinion?

2. Researched same auditor background and found a website he has that lists he has one of our serious competitors as a client. The information does not state when or how long. If current, the answer is clear. If not current or recent, what is your opinion?

Thanks.

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Leader
Admin
Welcome to The Cove! :bigwave:

I have a couple of questions. You say "Auditor who is scheduled has been at the company once before for audit." Does this mean the auditor was employed by the company, or was contracted to audit there? How long ago?

Auditors should be able to assure confidentiality is maintained. However, if it was up to me I would ask the client how they feel about these relationships. I'd like to see what other Covers say.

A

Audit Consultant

Thank you for your reply.