Does "Responsibility" need to be mentioned in the Corrective Actions ?

M

MichelleN

I work in a small company (started quite recently) but with a high volume of work and a pretty good quality system. However, after I did the internal audits, I found that their Corrective actions did not have responsibility indicated. No corrective action created indicated any responsibility. A great amount of them were raised for customer complaints and the Quality Manager insisted that no responsibility should be indicated for these CARs because..."this is a small company and when Quality is responsible then how can Quality check the implementation of the corrective action and close it?"

In a way I understand him, but to me it does not seem correct to not indicate the responsibility. So then what happens in a bigger company if Quality is at fault(responsible)?? Isn't exactly the same issue? I have a lot of experience in Quality and auditing and worked in different companies, and until present I don't remember anybody else closing the CARs but just the Quality Managers (except when it comes to auditing, of course, when the auditor closes the CARs if they are used for audit non-conformances). Now that I found this issue, I am thinking that in cases like these probably somebody else should close the CARs...

I would very much like to find your opinion on this, too.

Thanks a lot,
Michelle

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
K

kgott

Re: Is "Responsibility" need to be mentioned in the Corrective Actions ?

There is no requirement in ISO to allocate responsibility for corrective actions. Only good management requires this.

The underlying issue is how many customer complaints are received and why. While you do not indicate the volume of CA required, having a lot of complaints indicates that there may be fundamentaly poor process to begin with.