DV/PV Test Part Storage

Hello,

I am a technician in an automotive R&D lab dealing with DV/PV parts. I have been asked to find out the storage requirements for our samples after testing is completed. I have found several bits of information here, but I am still somewhat lost. Is there a document or standard that defines how parts going through initial testing should be handled? I would really appreciate any information.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

optomist1

A Sea of Statistics
Super Moderator
Hi Cliff, not knowing your contractual relationship, I suggest you to reach out to your customer SQ if you have one or through your customer Purch/Eng folks...can you share more info?

Last edited:
We are a small lab for a tier 1 supplier to several car makers. I appreciate the feedback on who to talk to. I have been told recently by one of these people that its something like 15 years for test parts according to IATF 16949. I know already that the next question will be where does it say this. I suppose I can follow up again. Time to look for a section regarding validation sample retention. I am open to any more suggestions. Thanks again.

The labs I use do not retain our samples. They return them to us to retain as our customer specifies.
I should have worded it better. We are part of the supplier, not an external lab that they are using. The main offices are over seas and we are a small tech center used for some local testing when required by the customer. The folks at the larger facilities for different programs seem to have wildly varying ideas for storage duration. I know customers differ, but I was curious if there was a standard to start from or something that would generally satisfy most requirements.

Miner

Forum Moderator
Leader
Admin
Is there any reason that you cannot return the product along with the test reports to the requestor and let them worry about retention?

Jim Wynne

Leader
Admin