SBS - The Best Value in QMS software

Effectiveness of Training... micro or macro?

A

adirondackman

We're having a little debate over how effectiveness of training is documented. Without question, each individual's records must show his or her competence level. But for effectiveness of training, does this need to be documented on an individual basis? Or can it be looked at from a higer level. For example, if we train our procedure on nonconforming product to everyone involved in the handling and disposition of it, do we need to go back and inividually establish the training was effect with each person? Or can we, based on audit results, observations, etc., establish if the training was effective or not for the organization in general?:thanks:

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
D

David DeLong

I have been presenting seminars for over 20 years and here is how I reflect training effectiveness.

After the training has been provided, I hand out a seminar appraisal sheet that I ask each person to fill out without their name. One of the questions would state "How would you rate your knowledge prior to training?". The participant would then rate it from 1 - 10 with 10 being an expert. The next question asked "After the training, how to do rate your knowledge now?". Again, there is a number rating from 1 - 10.

Invariably, the number is always higher after training. The group may have had an average rating of 3.5 coming in and 6.2 after the training. It is now "proof of the puddin" that the training has been effective and the appraisal sheets will now be maintained by the human resources department.

Jim Wynne

Staff member
Admin
I have been presenting seminars for over 20 years and here is how I reflect training effectiveness.