ELISA reader - IVDR classification

Hello everyone,

I am a Master student in Biomedical Engineering. By far I am working in start up company which manufactures ELISA reader (Class I IVD instrument- Self declaration).
Under the new Regulation (IVDR), our device will be classified according to Rule 5(b) as class A based on the intended purpose. The software drives or influences the device. The device is connected by a USB cable to the PC. The intended purpose for both the device and the software is the same. Means we consider both as a system (Software + IVD instrument, which is an ELISA reader).
My question is about the software now, is it a stand a lone software, is it embedded software or is it a software as Accessory for IVD? I am really confused now.
I will really appreciate you in advance!

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

yodon

Staff member
Super Moderator
Can the software be used on its own (without your IVD instrument)? Can your IVD instrument be used without the software?

Most likely, the software is just part of the system. If you look at the IVDR, you get a good idea of what's required. (IEC 62304 would be a good source also).

Rahim

Registered
Can the software be used on its own (without your IVD instrument)? Can your IVD instrument be used without the software?

Most likely, the software is just part of the system. If you look at the IVDR, you get a good idea of what's required. (IEC 62304 would be a good source also).
First of all thank you so much for your information and secondly with regard to your questions, the software can not be used on its own. The IVD instrument can also not use without software. A firmware is embedded in the IVD instrument, it is connected through USB with the computer and the App should be installed on the PC. I agree with you the software is a part of the system. Can I use the term "software as accessory" for it ?

Kind regards,

Abdulrahim

yodon

Staff member
Super Moderator