ERP Software and Quality Department Procedures Integration

S

somerqc

Everyone,

I have been gone from Elsmar for a few years as I have been out of the quality field for about 3 years at this time. However, I am currently consulting for an ERP software (not going to mention as not selling anything) that has a quality module (actually 3 different "levels") that due to my background I generally help the customers implement.

I am starting to find that a number of customers are having a hard time with standardizing their procedures to "fit" the software. The software is generally pretty good, but, in many cases the customers haven't had the structure of an ERP or structured software solution (re: Quality management software).

I have some experience from the customer side; however, I am looking for your experience with ERP software and the integration of quality processes and how you "solved" this "fit" issues if any.

I am looking to change my approach or at least add tools to my toolbox to make this less painful for my customers.

Thanks!!

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Sunday

Involved In Discussions
Re: ERP software and Quality departments

Disclaimer: I work for a company that makes QMS software.

ERP software usually evolves from financial software that grows to support manufacturing processes and then grows outward. Quality system support is usually the last objective for ERP Software. In fact it is often just a poorly conceived afterthought.

Given my bias, I suggest finding a good third party QMS software solution that can integrate with your ERP system.

Integration may be very simple. For example, find a third party database that does CAPA/FMEA very well and link the 3rd party database to your ERP Customer, Supplier, and Parts tables. The connection or link should be read only so there is no risk of the 3rd party software causing ERP database corruption.

We have used these techniques for years and they are effective.

Michael_M

Trusted Information Resource