Error Proofing sensors in PFMEA

Hello to all,

I have some doubts regarding how some control methods should be declared in PFMEA.

Here is the context example as stated in the PFMEA:

- Failure mode:
Tube bent out of specification
- Cause of failure:
Tube placed incorrectly in Bending machine (incorrect position)
- Preventive control
Tube position sensor in bending machine.
- Detection control
Process gage with correct route after Bending process.

In order to validate that the sensor in question is working correctly, I have a Master dummy part that should be detected as NOK position.

So the question is:
In the PFMEA, in the same failure mode "Tube bent out of specification", should I add another cause of failure row stating "Position sensor not working properly" and input the Master dummy part validation as both Prevention/Detection controls?

Because in the control plan, I want to input both controls: the position sensor and it's validation method (Master dummy part).

Thanks in advance for any of your opinions/feedback.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jim Wynne

Staff member
Admin
I always encourage using the process failure as the failure mode, and the nonconforming condition as the effect. It is, after all, a Process Failure Mode and Effects exercise. Using your example:

- Failure mode:
Tube placed incorrectly in Bending machine (incorrect position)
- Effect of failure:
Tube bent out of specification

Then the prevention and detection controls that you cite. If you feel that adding to this would be helpful, do it.

Sebastian

Trusted Information Resource
IATF 16949 10.2.4 Error-proofing
The organization shall have a documented process to determine the use of appropriate error-proofing methodologies. Details of the method used shall be documented in the process risk analysis (such as PFMEA) and test frequencies shall be documented in the control plan.