Exam for Personnel performing Calibration

E

Eloy Gomez

Hello: Does any one has an in-house exam given to personnel that perform calibration to determine competence? If you do not mind sharing I will appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

D

db

My initial response is that a test does not measure competence (other than the competence of test taking). I used to teach a class for technicians on how to take tests. Competence should be demonstrated. In the military, they used to do testing by two parts (I don't know if they still do). One part was written and the other was a skills test, where they actually had to perform.

Now, with that said, I am not an expert in 17025, so I don't know if they require a test, but I would think you would want more of a hands-on type test to make sure your personnel know exactly how to perform the calibrations. :2cents:

E

Eloy Gomez

We do a lot of OJT but an auditor came in about a month ago and asked us how we could demonstrate that our internal calibration tech was certified to perform calibration? Maybe we should document this OJT.

G

Gmzita

Eloy -
Our technician's go through OJT as well for calibration work. When they are ready to be approved for a specific Calibration Method, the supervisor submits a sample of work they performed and a written statement from another technician who has worked with them on the cal method to QA. If it is satisfactory, it is forwarded by QA to the Technical Manager who has the final approval.

If he approvals the technician, the Technical Manager initials & dates the Calibration Method on the Proficiency Document which is maintained as evidence of competency for the individual technician. There is also a section to cover use of equipment, such as Load Cells, Temperature Monitoring, Volt Meters, etc. If applicable to the approved method, that section is also initialed and dated.

It makes a nice tidy packet to show as objective evidence for training.;)

BradM

Leader
Admin