Informational Expanded Gage R&R Analysis using Minitab

Bill_jvrsshurricane

Starting to get Involved
Hello everyone. I am brand new to using quality tools such as Minitab. I can do some things in Excel but never used the data analysis tools. I have a lot to learn and am hoping someone can help me out with Minitab. I am trying to do an Expanded Gage R&R analysis. I chose expanded because it is an unbalanced sheet. When I click ok, I get the report shown below. It is also missing the r chart as well. I am aiming for a chart that was previously done but I don't know what was input into the fileds to create the charts in the file titled 1016test. Eventually, I will have to add more CMM's and operators, etc. as the R&R study progresses. But I don't know if my data is format correctly for Minitab, etc. I also don't know how to fully setup the dialog box. I greatly appreciate your help.

Attachments

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Miner

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Admin
You are using run order to designate your parts. In your analysis, this means that each part was only measured one time. Is this actually the case?

Miner

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Admin
Your options are pretty limited then. You can create a Gage Run Chart. If you have a master measurement of the part, you could perform a Type 1 Study, which evaluates the repeatability and bias. You can use General Linear Model ANOVA to manually estimate the Repeatability and Reproducibility, but you will have to manually create all of the graphs and manually calculate metrics such as percent tolerance. You will not be able to evaluate the operator*part interaction or metrics such as ndc or percent study variation.

Bill_jvrsshurricane

Starting to get Involved
Ok thanks. This is tough learning this but will make a great learning exercise for me since this is the first time I have used this software. Thanks for your help. :)

ncwalker

Trusted Information Resource