Experiences as a female auditor / auditee

S

StephanieB

Hello,

I am new to Elsmar and have to mention how impressed I am with the site. The amount of information provided here is greatly appreciated! Coming up in a few months I will be attending training to become ISO 9001 Lead Auditor Certified. A relative has been doing ISO 9001 auditing for a bit of time now and has highly recommended I get into the same field. I have read a few articles stating that there are only a small number of female auditors out there and examples of REDACTED harassment (mainly from the auditors to female employees. But this had me thinking about the other spectrum of this. Harassment to the auditors. I was curious if there were any female ISO Auditors here (or any other type of auditors) that have come across this? If so, any suggestions you might have for a female going into this field.

:thanks:

Randy

Super Moderator
A few number of female auditors? The vast majority of my team mates over the last 16 years have been females and their professionalism on the whole is better than their male counterparts and I prefer to work with the ladies...Am I guilty of harassment?

As for the harassment part, I've not witnessed any and wouldn't tolerate it unless holding a door for a female team mate or auditee would be considered harassment.

Harassment has been defined of course, but what is it really? Would being more polite to a female auditee than their male counterpart be considered harassment, or use of a softer tone of voice? How about a preference to interviewing males over females in an attempt to avoid potential harassment claims, could that be construed to be a form of harassment itself?