Extension of product nonconformances - Construction project

rambodanbo77

Registered
Hello,

I work in construction project quality with various contracts being undertaken in parallel. Inevitably, NCR’s are raised and captured for elements of the works which are not in accordance with the contract.

My question is that whilst I’d like to ensure NCR’s are closed in a timely manner, I’d like to develop some criteria for the extension of NCR’s for valid reasons. Any ideas on which criteria could be used to ensure contracts do not push their NCR’s to the very end whilst adding an element of pragmatism to the target date?

Pancho

wikineer
Super Moderator
Put it in the contract. Contract clauses can state that no progress will be recognized for nonconforming work, that failure to correct nonconforming work authorizes owner to withhold payment, and that owner can have someone else correct the work and backcharge. All of that is pretty good motivation, and if in the contract, you’ll get no argument later.

Marc

Fully vaccinated are you?
Leader
whilst I’d like to ensure NCR’s are closed in a timely manner, I’d like to develop some criteria for the extension of NCR’s for valid reasons.