External Auditing of Critical Suppliers - ISO 9001

Darren1974

Inactive Registered Visitor
Hi all

I joined my current company just a year past and although I've been an HSE manager for 6 years, the Quality side is new to me as we had a Quality manager at my last company.

When I joined new company they put me through my external auditors course (probably should have done internal auditing first). I've been trying to get to terms with internal auditing for say last 6 months and feel I'm kind of getting there, but being new to both quality and the fieldof the industry the compnay is in, its taking a little time as I expected...together with the fact that I still have to support whatsoever, not even admin support.

Anyway, as a quality initiative for 2008 the Managing Directors wants more external audits on critical suppliers done. What would anyone recommend how I could become more competant in external auditing, prior to actually carrying out audits?

I just feel that if I am not very competent by my own admission, and therfore may leave myself open when trying to justify a comment/obsevation or NCR to a very experienced Quality representative

thanks

Darren

Duke Okes

Quite Involved in Discussions
Re: ISO 9001 External Auditing

Some thoughts:

- Are there other facilities in your own company you could audit to gain experience?

- Study the relevant quality standard. Auditing is auditing, but if you can't decifer the standard well it will be more risky.

- Subcontract the supplier audits to a highly experienced (lead) auditor, but participate in the audit

SteelMaiden

Super Moderator
Super Moderator

This is exactly why so many supplier audits turn out badly. Companies send folks out with very little or no experience, and they expect meaningful audit results. Then the supplier is either hit with a bunch of nonconformances that are either invalid, or make work, but they feel they must address because the auditor was from a customer (chances are a big customer).