FAI (First Article Inspection) per AS9102A include gen. notes on form 3?

I

insomniacucr

hello,

I'm very new to the AS9100 standards. I was wondering if it is a general requirement to include the general notes listed on the B/P on form 3 of the AS9102A? It is my intuition that those notes are for reference and not necessarily defining characteristics of the product. If they are reference, I believe they may be omitted.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Al Rosen

Leader
Super Moderator
Re: FAI per AS9102A include gen. notes on form 3?

hello,

I'm very new to the AS9100 standards. I was wondering if it is a general requirement to include the general notes listed on the B/P on form 3 of the AS9102A? It is my intuition that those notes are for reference and not necessarily defining characteristics of the product. If they are reference, I believe they may be omitted.

I believe all notes are to be verified.

Cari Spears

Super Moderator
Leader
Super Moderator

hello,

Hi - welcome to the cove!:bigwave:

Notes do define characteristics of the product - characteristics like heat treat, material type, plating, etc. and are included in both forms 2 and 3 when I submit First Article Inspection. Do the notes on the drawings you're using call out such things?

There are also notes that may add clarification to dimensions on the drawing - in which case I use the same number for the two when I balloon the drawing and I put "Note 2" (or whatever the note designation is) in the "Remarks" column on form 3.

Here's an example - hope it's helpful.:)

Attachments

Last edited:

Al Rosen

Leader
Super Moderator

Notes do define characteristics of the product - characteristics like heat treat, material type, plating, etc. and are included in both forms 2 and 3 when I submit First Article Inspection. Do the notes on the drawings you're using call out such things?