FDA Approved Class II Medical Device?

DonkeyKang

Starting to get Involved
I can't seem to find a straight answer on this. My company likes to refer to things as "FDA Approved", but since we are developing a class II medical device, we are not FDA "Approved", but rather "Cleared" via 510(k). My question is - can a Class II medical device ever claim to be "FDA Approved", since a Class II device doesn't require a PMA?

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jaydub

Involved In Discussions
I am not an expert, but I know my last employer was chided by an FDA inspector for saying on our website that a 510(k) cleared device was "FDA Approved". The website was updated while the FDA inspector was still there and nothing was written up.

Ronen E

Problem Solver
Staff member
I can't seem to find a straight answer on this. My company likes to refer to things as "FDA Approved", but since we are developing a class II medical device, we are not FDA "Approved", but rather "Cleared" via 510(k). My question is - can a Class II medical device ever claim to be "FDA Approved", since a Class II device doesn't require a PMA?
No.

Watchcat

Trusted Information Resource
Yes, you can, but should you?

CDRH will say no if you ask it, but it's pretty commonly done (especially in press releases) and CDRH rarely goes out of its way to address it. Jaydub's experience is pretty typical. Picked up on an inspection, not because CDRH on the lookout, and then just "chided" and let go once it was changed.

It might get more attention if your competitors complain to CDRH about it.

If you have another issue that makes CDRH unhappy, it's unhappiness is likely to escalate if it finds you are also touting a cleared device as approved, And once you have its attention, it will probably notice.