First Piece vs. First Article - QC Inspection Terminology

K

Karen Whitehead

Our company is in the process of developing a quality management system, and we have contracted with a registrar for certification to ISO 9001:2000. I am new to manufacturing and have the job of developing procedures and forms for the system. I have used the term "first article" in some inspection procedures and forms meaning "the first off the production run or process." I was told that this was not the proper terminology - that "First Article" meant the "first parts ran when the product is first produced, not every time there is a production run." However, this weekend I talked to a production worker at another plant who operates a robot, and he is required to inspect the first pieces off a production run which they call "First Piece Inspection." Is there a difference in First Piece and First Article - or is it six of one and a half-dozen of another? Thanks for the help.

D

D.Scott

Our company is in the process of developing a quality management system, and we have contracted with a registrar for certification to ISO 9001:2000. I am new to manufacturing and have the job of developing procedures and forms for the system. I have used the term "first article" in some inspection procedures and forms meaning "the first off the production run or process." I was told that this was not the proper terminology - that "First Article" meant the "first parts ran when the product is first produced, not every time there is a production run." However, this weekend I talked to a production worker at another plant who operates a robot, and he is required to inspect the first pieces off a production run which they call "First Piece Inspection." Is there a difference in First Piece and First Article - or is it six of one and a half-dozen of another? Thanks for the help.

Welcome to the Cove.