Five Foot Caliper vs. Tape Measure - Tolerance issues

H

HMW64

I am new to the "Quality" environment so maybe someone can shed some light for me....I was recently sent a 5ft caliper to measure vinyl cut parts...sizes and style vary....why?? I was told because our tolerances our +/-1/32, our tape measures are not accurate because the operator may have to judge between whether the length is nominal or off by a 1/32, if it is between they feel that everyone rounds it down to the nominal and feels the process is not in control. I don't understand how a 5 ft. caliper will be more accurate??? It seems to be alot of money spent on a possible 1/64th difference. Any comments???

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
Hello and welcome to the Cove,

A 5 ft calipher instead of a tape measure?

Well, a calipher is usually much more exact than any tape measure, and the trick is to use measuring equipment that is... let's say one decimal more accurate than the tolerance in quiestion. You don't want to round the numbers down.

As for the lot of money spent on a possible 1/64th difference, It would seem that it is considered important to stay within the tolerance ( I know nothing about your product of course, but presume that the tolerance would be wider if it was not important).

/Claes

HMW64,
Been there, done that. And you are correct, it won't work.
Yes the caliper is more accurate compared to the tape measure. The problem is you cannot easily use a 5 ft caliper while measuring a flexible piece of vinyl.
I will suggest three alternatives;
1- If you have CAD capability plot a full size pattern, with the +/- tolerance, to be used as a template.
2- I purchased a device called "Scanmaster II" . It's a digital readout with a 0.5" dia wheel. You roll it across the item you want to measure and the results are displayed. It also interfacres with a computer. The only number I have is Tech suppotr, 1-800-854-8075.
3- Purchase a digital readout tape measure.