SBS - The best value in QMS software

FMEA - What is the relationship between Detection and Prevention? QP Newbie question.

J

jay_m

Hello all, first timer here.

I am new to FMEA and have a question about cause, detection/prevention and actions.

For a given cause, I realize I can have multiple detection controls, and multiple prevention controls.

But what is the relationship between detection and prevention? are they just independent lists of controls or does the presence of one require/influence the other (e.g. 1:1, 1:N, etc).

I am trying to build a template for this and these rules are important to understand.

thanks in advance!

ALSO - if there is a good reference for these types of "linkage" questions please let me know and I might stop asking dumb questions faster :eek:

Last edited by a moderator:
Elsmar Forum Sponsor
C

cokyat

I dont think that there is a relationship between prevention and detection. The AIAG FMEA handbook clearly define:

Detection as " An assessment of the probability that the proposed type of current process controls will detect a potential cause...".

I usualy refer to my "rejection history" when we perform FMEA and determine the ranking based on the likelihood the rejection will happen again when using the same detection system.

While preventive measure is defined as "measures which can be done NOW to prevent the occurence of the potential problem by eliminating each most probable cause".

Preventive measures should not only be implemented based on a specific cause...it should create a ripple effect to the whole system. It should be applied to similar processes with similar potential failure modes.

B

Bill Ryan - 2007

Welcome to the Cove, Jay :bigwave: