FMVSS 302 Flammability Testing Certification

R

RedSectorA

Hello, Long time reader first time poster. :)

I work in a lab that does Automotive Testing and my manager is asking about testing certification to FMVSS 302 Flammability. What he is looking for is there anyone who comes in and observes the testing and then can certify that we are doing per the Specification?

He really isnt looking for us to get ISO or TS compliant but just certify that we perform the flammability testing as required.

If anyone knows of an official group that can do this certification, please let me know. Thanks!

JC

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jim Wynne

Staff member
Admin
Hello, Long time reader first time poster. :)

I work in a lab that does Automotive Testing and my manager is asking about testing certification to FMVSS 302 Flammability. What he is looking for is there anyone who comes in and observes the testing and then can certify that we are doing per the Specification?

He really isnt looking for us to get ISO or TS compliant but just certify that we perform the flammability testing as required.

If anyone knows of an official group that can do this certification, please let me know. Thanks!

JC
Are you working in an independent lab, or a captive one (a company doing testing on its own products)? If the former is true, you should be ISO 17025 accredited, which is about as close as you can get to the type of certification you're looking for. If you're a captive lab, it's unlikely that you could get anyone to certify the proper conduct of specific tests. This is mainly because witnessing compliant testing isn't much of an assurance that the testing has always been or will continue to be compliant. Your lab could be accredited to 17025.

Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
J Flammability: Testing Burn Rate with Improper Sample Size fmvss 302 Various Other Specifications, Standards, and related Requirements 1