SBS - The best value in QMS software

Full Time Internal Auditor - Where should I be looking for someone?

R

RedWings

Currently I'm a Quality Manager and have a staff that includes a full-time Internal Auditor. His duties include performing internal audits of our QMS and also some QA work on our orders prior to production. He is nearing retirement and I'm concerned about being able to fill his spot with a qualified person in the his current salary range ($45-50k). He has been with the company for over 15 years, has an extensive background in Quality, and is well versed in "our" business.

My question is where should I be looking for someone to fill his role when the time comes? I know our recruiter can go to the sites like Monster, Indeed, etc.. and post the job. But that may bring A LOT of people not qualified or over qualified demanding more money (as most likely they deserve).

I have a few professional contacts in mind that may know someone but I need backup ideas. Hiring from within is an option and something I'd prefer so I'll begin talking to some people to see if they are interested.

Elsmar Forum Sponsor

Jen Kirley

Quality and Auditing Expert
Staff member
Admin
Welcome to the Cove!

Depending on where you are, I think it is safe to feel concerned about replacing your current auditor for $45-50K. I recently left a job because I wasn't able to earn more than that. But in this job market your chances improve a lot.

Harry is right - you can run an ad here first. You can also contact your area ASQ chapter and the military transition center; my first audit work was for the safety department onboard ship. Be prepared though, military people generally expect more responsibility, authority and growth opportunity than many civilian employers are comfortable offering.

somashekar

Staff member
Super Moderator