Gage R&R (Repeatability and Reproducability) - Tolerance vs. Variation

Marc

Hunkered Down for the Duration
Staff member
Admin
Posted for Teguh Sujatno:

Subject: MSA and Calibration
Date: Thu, 21 Jan 1999 22:37:43 +0000

As you can see, in the MSA manual issued by the Big Three, calculation of gage R&R uses total variation instead of tolerance. Currently I have a problem in my client ( I am a consultant), since its gage R&R in several devices is more than 30%. Howeve, when I read a bool with the title "Concept for R&R studies" by Larry B Barrentine (In the book, he always mentioned the Big Three requirements as well), the calculation of gage R& R uses tolerance. And this makes more sense to me. Any body could make comments??.

Regards,
Teguh (Mr)

Elsmar Forum Sponsor
S

SCOTT SNYDER

Teguh,
We just passed our QS9000 audit yesterday. The difference between variation results and tolerance results are as follow;
1) variation: your process must vary enough to show up with your measuring equipment. It is not always possible to get equipment that will measure your variation if your process is extremly stable. Thus;
2) tolerance: If your process repeats and is very stable the the only way to show good results is with the tolerance version.

Every auditor may not agree with this, but ours was extremly pleased with my explanation. I hope this answers your question.

Scott

R

Roger Eastin